

Council Member Appointment Status

October 17, 2024

R.I. Gen. Laws § 42-140.1-4 - The Rhode Island Energy Efficiency and Resource Management Council



§ 42-140.1-4. Composition and appointment.

- (a) The council shall consist of fifteen (15) members appointed by the governor with the advice and consent of the senate; eleven (11) members shall be voting members, and the governor shall give due consideration to appointing persons with knowledge of: (1) Energy regulation and law; (2) Large commercial/industrial users, (3) Small commercial/industrial users; (4) Residential users; (5) Low-income users; (6) Environmental issues pertaining to energy; (7) Energy design and codes; (8) Energy efficiency education and employment tracking; and (9) Municipal energy users; (10) Large nonprofit institutional users; and (11) Small nonprofit institutional users. Four (4) members shall be ex-officio, non-voting members, representing an electric distribution entity, a gas distribution entity, fuel oil or heating fuel industry, and the commissioner of the office of energy resources. From the eleven (11) voting members, the governor shall appoint one person to be chairperson of the council and one person to be vice chairperson of the council; the commissioner of the office of energy resources shall be the executive secretary and executive director of the council.
- **(b)** With the exception of the commissioner of the office of energy resources; of the initial appointments; three (3) members shall be appointed for a term of three (3) years, three (3) members shall be appointed for a term of five (5) years; thereafter members of the council shall be appointed for a term of five (5) years and may be reappointed.
- (c) A simple majority of the total number of voting members shall constitute a quorum.
- **(d)** A vacancy other than by expiration shall be filled in the manner of the original appointment but only for the unexpired portion of the term. The appointing authority shall have the power to remove its appointee for just cause.
- **(e)** The members of the council shall not be compensated for their service but shall be reimbursed for their actual expenses necessarily incurred in the performance of their duties. The provisions of this subdivision shall not apply to the executive secretary/executive director.

Council Member Appointment Status



ENERGY EFFICIENCY COUNCIL		<u>Appointment</u>	Term Exp.	Action	NOTES
1 Energy Regulation and Law Representative	Kurt Teichert	2020	4/1/2025	Will require appointment/reappointment in 2025	Education Committee
2 Large Commercial/Industrial Users Representative	Robert (Bob) Izzo	2022	4/1/2027	No action needed	
3 Small Commercial/Industrial Users Representative	Harry Oakley	2022	4/1/2027	No action needed	Chair, Executive Committee
4 Residential Users Representative	Priscilla De La Cruz	2023	4/1/2026	No action needed	
5 Low-Income Users Representative	VACANT		4/1/2021	Appointment needed in 2025	
6 Environmental Issues pertaining to Energy Representative	Susan AnderBois	2021	4/1/2026	No action needed	Executive Committee and Education Committee
7 Energy Design & Codes Representative	Peter Gill Case	2022	4/1/2027	No action needed	Vice Chair, Executive Committee and Education Committee
8 Energy Efficiency Education & Employment Tracking Representative	Dave Caldwell	2022	4/1/2025	Will require appointment/reappointment in 2025	
9 Municipal Energy Users Representative	Jordan Day	2023	4/1/2025	Will require appointment/reappointment in 2025	
10 Large Non-Profit Institutional Users Representative	Tom Magliocchetti	2022	4/1/2026	No action needed	
11 Small Non-Profit Institutional Users Representative	Joe Garlick	2022	4/1/2027	No action needed	
Commissioner Office of Energy Resources (exofficio)	Chris Kearns		n/a	No action needed	Executive secretary and executive director of the council
13 Electric Distribution Entity (ex-officio)	Brett Feldman	2022	4/1/2027	No action needed	
Gas Distribution Entity (ex-officio)	Dr. Carrie Gill	2024	4/1/2025	No action needed	
15 Fuel Oil or Heating Fuel Industry (ex-officio)	John Santoro	2022	4/1/2027	No action needed	
Notes:					
* Members serve 5 year terms					
* The Council consists of 15 members - 11 voting, 4 ex	x-officio				
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE42/42-140.1/INDEX.HTM					

2025 Seat Appointment Needs



- 1. Energy regulation and law representative
- 2. Low-income users representative
- 3. Energy efficiency education and employment tracking representative
- 4. Municipal energy users representative
- 5. Gas distribution entity representative

2025 Seat Appointment Questions



Reappointments

- Is Council Member Teichert interested in reappointment to the Energy Regulation and Law seat?
- Is Council Member Caldwell interested in reappointment to the Energy Efficiency Education and Employment Tracking seat?
- Is Council Member Day interested in reappointment to the Municipal Energy Users seat?
- Is Council Member Dr. Gill interested in reappointment to the Gas Distribution Entity seat?
- If no to any of the above, are there candidates that should be considered for these seats?

Existing Vacancies

— What candidates should be recommended for the seat representing Low-Income Users?

Other Questions

- Are there existing Council Members that we should consider shifting to different seats?
- How can the Council support outside candidates for vacancies to ensure that they are filled? For example:
 - o Can the Council help identify backup candidates in case initial candidates fall through?
 - o Can the Council work with candidate(s) to prepare the necessary paperwork in advance?